June 12, 2019

TOP Conference Awards

Award nominations for the Triangle of Prevention (TOP) program are accepted at any time, but are only presented during the annual TOP Conference. If you know of a TOP site and local union that should be recognized for their achievements, please nominate them for an award by completing the form found below and returning it to Steve Doherty in the USW Tony Mazzocchi Center. All nominations are due by Monday, July 22, 2019.

Steve Soherty at sdoherty@uswtmc.org or 412-562-2561

USW Tony Mazzocchi Center
60 Boulevard of the Allies
Room 904
Pittsburgh, PA 15222

All submissions will be reviewed and evaluated by the TOP Adviser Group. Selected nominees will be notified and requested to be at the conference to receive the award.

Glenn Erwin Award

This award is given to TOP sites for completing an investigation that resulted in a significant improvement. The improvement is through the Design and Engineering System of Safety, and results in the elimination of a known hazard, making the process or task safer. Glenn Erwin was instrumental in the development of the Triangle of Prevention Program and became the program director in 1994. He was selected by the Chemical Safety Board as the Union representative to the Baker Panel investigating the explosion at the Texas City Refinery in 2005. Glenn retired from the USW Tony Mazzocchi Center in 2011.

Click here to download the nomination form.

Fallen Workers Memorial Award

This award is given to local unions for building solidarity and exhibiting collective involvement within the TOP Program. The local union has successfully secured management’s acceptance of TOP, ensuring the TOP representative’s ability to perform investigations and conduct TOP steering meetings. The local union leadership promoted TOP through communication with the membership and management, who worked to solidify health and safety goals.

Click here to download the nomination form.

Posted In: TOP